PhysicsReimagined

Kenyan Smartphonics Workshop

A workshop to explore the smartphone as an educational tool!

On December 1, 2020 the “smartphonics” workshop took place. For half a day, around 15 Kenyan university teachers were able to test the smartphone as a tool for teaching physics. During this period of French lockdown, this workshop was held virtually, between Paris, Nairobi, Kisumu and Mombasa. On the program for participants: presentation of the possibilities offered by smartphones, but more importantly practical activities to explore the potential of this tool: free fall measurements shared between the four sites, riddles to discover the sensors, and an adaptation of the “smartphone physics challenge”, or how to measure as precisely as possible the height of a room with a smartphone among the 12 methods proposed?

 

The support materials used for this workshop are available below, as well as some photos that allow you to feel the atmosphere of this workshop.

 

Workshop Support Materials

Riddles

 

Discover the sensors installed into your smartphone by trying to reproduce these screenshots obtained with the phyphox application!

 

Link

 

 

Smartphone Physics Challenge

Here is a selection of 12 methods for measuring the height of a room. You have to try them out and rank them in order of increasing precision. One of them has a precision of about 3 million kilometers, will you guess which it is?

 

Link

Memory Lane

1 /

Programme

Total : 4 hours

17 participants, on 3 different locations:

 

Icebreaker (30′)

 

Technical presentation (20′)
Goal: Present the possibilities of smartphones and Phyphox

 

Activity: Collective Measurement (15′)
Goal: Make a shared measurement of a free fall

 

Presentation: Use cases (30′)
Goal: Present how to use smartphones in a teaching environment

 

Break (15′)

 

Activity: Riddles (15′)
Goal: Discover the sensors of a smartphone

 

Activity: Smartphone Physics Challenge (45′)
Goal: Play with the notions of model and precision

 

Presentation: More precise practical work (10′)
Goal: Show more precise activities and practical work for students

 

Round table (30′)
Discussion about:

  • How do you think you could use your smartphones?
  • What tools would you need to teach with smartphones?

 

Group photo (5′)

This workshop is a co-construction of the “Physics ReImagined” team and the CEP of the Villebon Georges Charpak Institute. It was made possible thanks to the support of the UDIP project, the IUT Cachan, the French Embassy in Kenya and Somalia, the Technical University of Kenya, the Technical University of Mombasa, the four Polytechnic Institutes of Kabete, Kisumu, Kenya Coast and Nyeri. It benefited from the support of the “La Physique Autrement” Chair, carried by the Paris-Saclay University Foundation, supported by the Air Liquide group. A big thank you to Véronique Tibayrenc for her invitation, and to Lou-Andréas Etienne for her help.

 

Workshop organized with the help of:

Ambassade de France au Kenya et en Somalie

Université Paris-Saclay

projet UDIP

Institut Villebon - Georges Charpak

/

La PhysiqueAutrement

Kenyan Smartphonics Workshop

Un workshop pour explorer le smartphone comme outil pédagogique !

Le 1er décembre 2020 le workshop « smartphonics » a eu lieu. Pendant une demi-journée, une quinzaine d’enseignants kényans du supérieur ont pu tester le smartphone comme outils d’enseignement de la physique. En cette période de confinement, ce workshop s’est tenu virtuellement, entre Paris, Nairobi, Kisumu et Mombasa. Au programme des participants : présentation des possibilités offertes par les smartphones, mais surtout des activités pratiques afin d’explorer par eux-mêmes le potentiel de cet outil : des mesures de chutes libres partagées sur les quatre sites, des énigmes pour découvrir les capteurs, et surtout une adaptation du smartphone physics challenge, ou comment mesurer le plus précisément possible la hauteur d’une pièce avec son smartphone parmi les 12 méthodes proposées ?

 

Les documents utilisés pour ce workshop sont disponibles ci-dessous, ainsi que quelques photos qui permettent de sentir l’ambiance de ce workshop.

 

Documents du workshop

Enigmes

Découvrez les capteurs installés dans votre smartphone en essayant de reproduire ces copies d’écran obtenues avec l’application phyphox !

 

Link

 

 

Smartphone Physics Challenge

Voici une sélection de 12 méthodes pour mesurer la hauteur d’une pièce. Il faut les essayer et les classer par ordre de précision croissante. L’une d’entre elles est précise à 3 millions de kilomètres près, saurez vous la reconnaître ?

 

Link

Quelques souvenirs

1 /

Programme

Total : 4 hours

17 participants, on 3 different locations:

 

Icebreaker (30′)

 

Technical presentation (20′)
Goal: Present the possibilities of smartphones and Phyphox

 

Activity: Collective Measurement (15′)
Goal: Make a shared measurement of a free fall

 

Presentation: Use cases (30′)
Goal: Present how to use smartphones in a teaching environment

 

Break (15′)

 

Activity: Riddles (15′)
Goal: Discover the sensors of a smartphone

 

Activity: Smartphone Physics Challenge (45′)
Goal: Play with the notions of model and precision

 

Presentation: More precise practical work (10′)
Goal: Show more precise activities and practical work for students

 

Round table (30′)
Discussion about:

  • How do you think you could use your smartphones?
  • What tools would you need to teach with smartphones?

 

Group photo (5′)

Ce workshop est une co-construction de l’équipe « la physique autrement » et du CEP de l’institut Villebon Georges Charpak. Il a été rendu possible grace au support du projet UDIP, de l’IUT de Cachan, de l’ambassade de France au Kenya et en Somalie, de la Technical University of Kenya, de la Technical University of Mombasa, des quatre Polytechnic Institutes of Kabete, Kisumu, Kenya Coast and Nyeri. Il a bénéficié du soutien de la Chaire « La Physique Autrement », portée par la Fondation Paris-Saclay Université soutenue par le groupe Air Liquide. Un grand merci à Véronique Tibayrenc pour son invitation, et à Lou-Andréas Etienne pour son aide.

Workshop organisé avec l'aide de :

Ambassade de France au Kenya et en Somalie

Université Paris-Saclay

projet UDIP

Institut Villebon - Georges Charpak

/