PhysicsReimagined

Remote sensors with a smartphone

An Arduino board to boost your smartphone

Add sensors to your smartphone to measure acceleration, angular velocity, temperature, light intensity, magnetic field, or voltage? It’s possible for less than 40 euros!

 

The Arduino Nano 33 BLE Sense board has all these sensors, and can easily send its measurements to your smartphone via Bluetooth, communicating with the phyphox application. We have simplified the process as much as possible: you upload our programme to your Nano board, you add the phyphox experiments to your smartphone with our QR code, and that’s it: you can start your measurements…

 

Measurements can then be taken without endangering the smartphone (a free fall, for example), but also compensate for the lack of sensors on some smartphones. This small board of just a few centimetres becomes a particularly useful tool for physics teachers wishing to use smartphones for practical work, but also for all curious people interested in a physical measurement tool in their pocket.

 

The Arduino Nano 33 BLE Sense board can be easily found at a very affordable price; we freely distribute all the programs to access the sensors, as well as a list of equipment. We also distribute the 3D printer plan of a compact and solid box that protects the board during use.

Quick Start

Here is a detailed How-To to guide the configuration of both smartphone and nano board:

1 /

Tutorials and programs

To go further, here are the source documents and a short pdf tutorial. If you are used to coding, the programs can easily be adapted to your needs.

Authors

Gautier Creutzer

Élève-ingénieur, CentraleSupélec

/

La PhysiqueAutrement

Arduino Nano

Une carte Arduino pour doper votre smartphone

Ajouter des capteurs à votre smartphone pour mesurer une accélération, une vitesse de rotation, une température, l’intensité lumineuse, le champ magnétique, ou une tension électrique ? C’est possible pour moins de 40 euros !

 

La carte Arduino Nano 33 BLE Sense possède tous ces capteurs, et peut facilement envoyer sur votre smartphone par Bluetooth ses mesures, en communiquant avec l’application phyphox. Nous avons simplifié au maximum les démarches : vous téléversez notre programme sur votre carte nano, vous ajoutez les expériences phyphox sur votre smartphone avec notre QR code, et c’est tout : vous pouvez commencer vos mesures…

 

On peut alors faire des mesures sans mettre en danger le smartphone (une chute libre par exemple), mais aussi compenser l’absence de capteurs sur certains smartphones. Cette petite carte de quelques centimètres devient un outil particulièrement utile pour des enseignants de physique désireux d’utiliser les smartphones en travaux pratiques, mais également pour tous les curieux intéressés par un outil de mesure physique dans leur poche.

 

La carte Arduino Nano 33 BLE Sense se trouve facilement dans le commerce à un prix très accessible; nous distribuons librement tous les programmes permettant d’accéder aux capteurs, ainsi qu’une liste de matériel. Nous distribuons également le plan pour imprimante 3D d’une boîte compacte et solide qui protège la carte pendant son utilisation.

Pour commencer

Voici un tutoriel pas-à-pas pour configurer smartphone et Arduino nano :

1 /

Tutoriels et programmes

Pour aller plus loin, voici les documents sources et une synthèse du tutoriel. Si vous avez l’habitude de coder, les programmes sont facilement modifiables et adaptables.

Auteurs

Gautier Creutzer

Élève-ingénieur, CentraleSupélec

/